I’ve enjoyed following Aimee’s insights and inspiration as she shares her intentional choices to live a gentler, slower, simpler life day after day at Living, Learning and Loving Simply.

Aimee graciously granted permission for me to include THIS post in Not So Fast for the “Live from the Slow Zone” section.

Readers really respond to Aimee’s words. One time I was visiting a book club that chose to read Not So Fast, and one of the members of the group read out loud a few lines from that page in the book because Aimee’s words had impacted her.

Today, however, I wanted to share from a different post. It’s entitled “I’m Dreaming of a Slow Christmas.”

Aimee wrote:

I had to remind myself of these principles of slow living as I approached the Christmas season. About a week and a half ago I was feeling the anxiety, the pressure, the temptations towards unrealistic expectations (“everything must be handmade!”), and tears were coming and welling up way too often. I took a big breather and thought about what are the most important things to me at Christmas and then toss the rest.

It’s important to me to make my Christmas cards, play Christmas music excessively, bake lots of cookies, read my children great Christmas stories, and do our daily advent readings. But parties, full schedules, school work, running around town, homemade pajamas for my kids, patchwork Christmas pillows and handmade gifts for all who are important to me had to all get tossed from “the list”. Those things can be good things, but if they come between me and my relationship with the Lord, Mike, and my children, then…….

Read the entire post HERE…

(You may be interested to know that Aimee’s husband and brother-in-law were on the plane that landed on the Hudson River in January 2009. You can read some of her thoughts HERE and HERE).

Image by: Mike Chaput-Branson. “Cocoa w/Marshmallow,” 7 Dec. 2007. Flickr. Web. 11 Dec. 2009. <http://www.flickr.com/photos/427/2142255029/&gt; (All sizes of this photo are available for download under a Creative Commons license.)

Get ready Mega Memory Month returns January 2010!

Subscribe to NotSoFastBook.com by e-mail or RSS feed for continual updates.
Get to know Ann Kroeker better at annkroeker.com

