scarletletterstack

This year, once a week, I’m leading discussions on American literature for a group of high school students.

To prepare for the class, I’m studying the material in depth.

It slows me down.

I’m getting more out of each book and hoping the students will, too.

As I learn to read carefully, utilizing resources I’ve pulled together for the students, I’ve learned to appreciate at a much greater depth the material, style, themes, conflict, characters, history, and context.

By slowing, I am gaining much more—and retaining more, as well.

The first book we tackled as a class was The Scarlet Letter.

I’ve collected all of the ideas and resources for that unit into one place: a post over at “ann kroeker. writer.”

Join me as I attempt to “Explore the Classics,” beginning with The Scarlet Letter.

scarlet letter page

Stack of books photo by Ann Kroeker. Page from The Scarlet Letter by Ted Cabanes accessed from stock.xchng.
Subscribe to NotSoFastBook.com by e-mail or RSS feed for continual updates.
Get to know Ann Kroeker better at annkroeker.com
