calendar

In a “not so fast” life, we try to slow down enough that we leave a little space in our schedules.

Why?

Here’s one reason:

In the spiritual life, the word discipline means “the effort to create some space in which God can act.” Discipline means to prevent everything in your life from being filled up. Discipline means that somewhere you’re not occupied, and certainly not preoccupied. In the spiritual life, discipline means to create that space in which something can happen that you hadn’t planned or counted on.

(Henri Nouwen, as quoted on pp. 22-23 in God in the Alley, by Greg Paul; bold emphasis mine)

I don’t want to live life so fast and so full that I miss God’s activity in my life.

I don’t want to be so preoccupied with the next thing, and the next, and the next, that no space is left for something to happen that I hadn’t planned on.

I want to create space in which God can act.

Subscribe to NotSoFastBook.com by e-mail or RSS feed for continual updates.

Get to know Ann Kroeker better at annkroeker.com

